Murray Brown

Murray_Brown_200_x_300_new.jpgFACT SHEET

Name your first winner:
Mike Adios - we celebrated for a week!!

Editor's note: Mike Adios was owned by Cleland Murdoch and Peter Kerslake and was orginially trained by Derek Jones. Jones drove him to win in September 1983 as a 3 year old. He was then transferred to the newly formed Murray Brown stable and won at the Invercargill meeting September 1984.He was driven by Alan Scobie and won by 1 length beating Freedom Hunter paying $3.25 and $1.75.

How many winners have you trained?
499 (End of the 2016-2017 season).

Best season:

2011-2012 32 winners 

Biggest race you've won?
The 2009 Harness Jewels for Four Year old Mares won by Beaudiene Bad Babe.
Stable and track location:
Findlay Road - Ascot Park

Track size:
1000 metres.

Size of property:
10 acres.

Training capacity:

Southland training premierships:

1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2006 and 2012 (7)

Best mare trained?
Beaudiene Bad Babe

Best colt or gelding trained?
Freeway Don (Holmes Hanover - Wee Donna) 5-11-12-6 $87,082.

Editor's note: Freeway Don was initially trained by Alan Paisley before transferring to the Brown stable. Mark Purdon also trained the gelding for three starts and at the end of his New Zealand career he had six starts from Warren Stableton's stable.

Best horses trained?
Beaudiene Bad Babe.

Best horse sold?
Best Yet Franco (OK Bye - Baroness Franco) 24 - 5 - 3 - 5 $30,990 1.52.6 USA.

Which race would you most like to win in Southland?
Invercargill Cup - home track.

Which New Zealand race would you be most thrilled to win?
New Zealand Cup - Everyones dream.

Which New Zealand trainer do you admire most?
John Hay. To produce winners from horses he has trained from the start of their careers and the condition they're turned out in to race.

What do you consider to be the biggest challenge facing Harness Racing in Southland?
Three year olds getting penalty free wins every second win. Therefore these horses are not going through the grades and in the one win grade there may be horses that have won 4 or 5 races.

websites, seo & social media
Invercargill GoreWintonWyndham